Valentine’s day deaths…

Picture22Today, there are people all around the world celebrating “World Love Day” also known as Valentine’s Day, buying cards, chocolate, flowers, jewelry, etc… I began to search for the history of this weird day…I wanted to better understand why people are buying all this stuff… So, without further suspense here is an interesting take: 

“Somewhere along the line the church began to celebrate a feast in February commemorating the death of Saint Valentine, a Christian martyr. However, one of the difficulties with pinpointing the patron saint of the holiday is that there were legends of three men named Valentine being executed in the first few centuries of Christianity. Legend has it that Roman Emperor Claudius II executed two men named Valentine on February 14 in the third century A.D.

One story says that Valentine was a priest who continued to perform marriages even when the emperor had issued an edict against marriage in order to make sure that his soldiers had no family ties.  / Another legend says that Valentine was a Christian who had been put in jail because of his faith. After healing the jailer’s daughter of blindness, he reportedly sent the young girl a goodbye message the day before his execution, February 14—the letter was supposedly signed “From your Valentine.”  / Still another story says that Valentine’s Day gets its name from the Christian martyr Valentine of Terni, who was the bishop of Interamna in A.D. 197. Legend says that Valentine of Terni was martyred shortly after he became bishop on February 14th under the reign of Aurelian.”

There you have it!!!

My Point:

As i sit here and think about my HOT wife, (as I do everyday) I am reminded of how blessed I am… I don’t need a “certain day” set aside to honor my wife, If I’m not doing that EVERYDAY, I’m an IDIOT!! God has blessed me with an amazing wife, I need to thank her on days when she NOT expecting it… I wish people would just look at the example my wife has set and love there spouse “IN SPITE OF”… I’m a jerk sometimes, don’t always take out the trash as soon as I’m asked to, put my dirty clothes in the hamper, or wash of my plate before I stick it in the dishwasher, but she loves me anyways, EVERYDAY!!! for almost 24 yrs. she has loved me, and I have loved her!! Show som love today, and EVERYDAY!!! (My rant is over, now I have to go buy a card and some chocolates…)

MORE HIM, less me

brent

Leave a comment